Putting fire safety first for over 40 years


Be aware of your responsibilities

The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 (FSO) came into effect in October 2006, as part of the Government’s commitment to reduce death, injury and damage caused by fire.

The FSO applies to all non-domestic premises in England and Wales, placing responsibility for fire safety on the person who owns or controls the business or premises.

The 'responsible person' for each premises is required by law to carry out an annual fire risk assessment and take steps to reduce or remove risks. Fire certificates are no longer issued or have legal status.

Types of commercial premises covered by the law include:

  1. Offices & shops

  2. Factories & warehouses

  3. Industrial units

  4. Pubs, clubs & restaurants

  5. Hotels & hostels

  6. Care homes

  7. Houses of multiple occupancy

  8. Community halls & premises

  9. Places of worship

  10. Educational premises

  11. Leisure centres

  12. Theatres & cinemas

Please note this is an overview of fire safety legislation and is written in very general terms to provide guidance. For more detailed information visit the following links where you will find a series of downloadable guides to ensure your compliance with the law.

Useful links:



Fire Safety Law





ABOUT USaboutus.htmlaboutus.htmlshapeimage_21_link_0
CASE HISTORIEScasehistories.htmlcasehistories.htmlshapeimage_24_link_0
CONTACT UScontactus.htmlcontactus.htmlshapeimage_26_link_0